Third Party Press

Kar 98 help

seatime

Hi Folks...I am new to the world of Mausers but bought one K98 and now I want another. I am not so much a collector as a shooter and appreciate the accuracy and well built attributes of this fine old gun.

I am interested in a gun listed as a Kar 98...I don't know the difference between a Far 98 and a K 98 but am studying...trouble is...the gun is going to be sold before I learn the different Mausers. A lot of sellers listing these guns have less knowledge than I do...thus I come to you with hat in hand.

I am particularly concerned with the barrel crown...it looks cut off. I have attached a picture

Would you please advise. Here is the listing:

Make: MAUSER

Model: KAR 98

Gauge: .7.92 x 57mm (8mm)

SN#: 2430

Action Type: Bot Action

Barrel Length / Condition: 26”, nice condition, bluing has turned a nice grey patina

Ribbing (Y/N): No

Receiver Condition (ie. Bluing, Engraving, etc.): Great with with wear, blue loss

Stock Condition (ie.Checkering, Wear, etc.): Some minor handling wear. Nice looking

Fore-end Condition (ie. Checkering, Wear, etc.): Same as above

Kind of Sights (ie. Front, Rear): front fixed sight, fit for scope

Trigger/Grip: Nice

Recoil Pad: Bishop butt plate

Attachments

• pop_wm_5934308.jpg
    pop_wm_5934308.jpg
    19.2 KB · Views: 107
  • pop_wm_5934309.jpg
    pop_wm_5934309.jpg
    23.2 KB · Views: 52
Welcome to the forum!

Before we start, I want to say that you need to let us know what your intentions are, - the rifle as a collectable, a representative shooter, or as a shooting rifle with no relation to its past as a German military rifle? You see this rifle you show is about as far as you can reasonably get from its original condition and you could never restore it to anything resembling what it once was. (not trying to be unpleasant about this, but this rifle, just from the two pictures, is a total loss from the collector point of view... as a shooting rifle it may have some value)