Third Party Press

LW MP-40 Pouches

tsmgguy

What do you think about the set of MP-40 pouches pictured? Authentic?

(I couldn't find anything wrong with them other than there appear to be no maker's codes or dates.)

Thanks!

Last edited:
I am no expert but I tend to believe these are reproductions. The condition of them as well as the stitching are what makes me believe this.
CaptMax

I have to say I wouldn't totally throw these under the bus.. If you compare every set to a textbook clg type you will miss out on a lot of originals...

I'll clarify my reason for thinking they're not original WW2 German manufacture. What I like; the cloth material, the iron hardware, craftsmanship on the cloth, and the leather stud reinforcements on the pouches. What I don't like is all of the other leather. It all appears hand-cut, oversized, aged, and overall homemade looking. It's almost as if the pouches are original and finished later by someone who's not a WW2 German factory. Even through the end of the war craftsmanship on equipment is crisp, clean, and straight. I know there are exceptions, and of course these very well may be original. I wouldn't put my money on this set. Enhanced post-war Czech in my opinion, using German materials. I'd like to post a few links to "original" pouches currently listed on ebay if the mods don't mind. Of course the seller doesn't clarify original or repro, but very convincing never the less.

Last edited:
Yes, post the links IB. The pouches are IMHO repros made to deceive. The material could have come from original 40s-50s canvas. The stitching, construction, and straps are wrong, as are the WaAs added to sexify the ruse. I have two sets of textbook known original pouches that these were apparently made to copy and will post those. The differences are obvious when side by side.

I think it would be great to post some "so called orig" examples to point out the high end fakes being pushed out. These are a very tricky subject at times.