Third Party Press

K98 High Turret sniper rifle

balkslak

This rifle is up for sale and I’m interested in getting your opinions on it. I’m guessing its original due to the low numbers of fakes in Norway in general, but I’m by no means an expert. The rifle is a non-matching rifle with a bore in good condition. There is a slight dent to the scope but the seller says that it doesn’t have any effect on the optics. The leather case for the scope have a similar logo as on a Walther PPK holster I own made by AKAH. Is there anyway of dating the rifle?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

First of all, it is a LOW TURRET rifle and not a high turret!

Secondly, did you notice the front scope base (while assuming it's original, since most fakes leave out the stopping screw since it's hell of a work to copy) looks like it has a black paint on it, while the receiver doesn't? The stock is not original to the rifle, it has a flat buttplate and the pen markings inside look like they are of Norwegian origin. The bolt handle is re-serialized (original serial filed off and then re-applied).

Not taking much of a detail look at it, it could be that the original barreled action once was a LT (or HT?) sniper. It has been re-equipped with the front scope base, which most probably came with the scope since they both feature a black paint. Then the rifle was re-completed with a newly serialized bolt and a stock. That leaves you up with a possibly restored sniper and a fully mismatching piece. The value then is the sum of the parts individually.

Edit: also applies to the aside pictured LSR sniper. That one features a H barrel band, which would never be original to a LSR sniper. Also the scope on this rifle seems to not have a recoil ring, so I assume a built up shooter.

First of all, it is a LOW TURRET rifle and not a high turret!