Third Party Press

I am new to this code...

BOGSailor

Greetings,
I have read some of these threads and I have come to realize I have a bunch to learn....:faint: A friend of mine is sending me a 8MM Mauser that his father in law willed to him. My friend sent me the following email;

"On the breach is 794' Danzic 1917. On the bolt and a$$. 57, 98, 46 and 2266. On the barell either 127 or I27 hard to read, 6186 wich shows up all over the rifle, GEW.98. s42k? partly coverd by stock and 2388."

I will have this shipped to me soon and in WA state all weapons are charged a "use" tax unless you have a receipt paying sales tax. I would like to know an approximate value so I can have a rough idea of how much tax I have to pay. I have not seen the rifle so I can not tell how much of the original finish there is. Not very much I am sure.

I do not know if WA exempts antique or historical weapons from this use tax. If anyone can help me out or point me in the right direction to research this rifle I would appreciate it greatly.

BOG

PS. The BOG stands for "Boots On Ground". A statement on my last set of orders to Iraq. Great way to finish off a 30 year career as a Sailor...LOL

I assume he means it is a 1917 Danzig, serial number 794 (probably a suffix left off), sounds like it might be a total mismatch? Even the barrel? All parts should match the receiver serial- full serial on barrel, and bolt, full serial minus suffix on stock, and last two (or all digits if interwar, which as it has an upgraded rearsight it might be) on the rest of the parts.

Hard to say as to value, but his description isn't too tempting. I am not so sure it would be worth the box and postage? Not to be rude, but I would see if you can get some pictures before you and he goes through all the hassle of mailing it, paying extra fees, and the gas to pick it up, as it sure doesn't sound like it is worth much.

Of course the description is pretty vague in areas.

Greetings,