Third Party Press

Inhereted 1912 98a restoral, need help/advice

pdmayton

Hello all, new to forum. Two years ago while serving in the military my grandfather left me a 1912 Mauser 98a with matching serial numbers. I love restoring things, and shooting but I have no experience restoring rifles and indeed have no idea what I'm doing. I have spent many hours using Rem Oil on everything (was afraid of taking apart the bolt carrier assembly). I spent an hour or two cleaning the bore with the standard copper brushes, oil, cleaning patches but it still looks dirty but no more carbon coming off (almost none anyway) but I don't think there is any pitting in the bore, just looks dirty. The stock has been broke at some point in it's life but it looks like it was repaired well with brass pins. There are dark spots on the metal but virtually no rust, I would like to clean this up but can't seem to do anything more to it (Nevr Dull?). I suspect the wood is dehydrated to based on how loose the barrel fits around the stock. Unfortunately the weapon is missing the stacking hook (which I can't find anywhere) and the retaining screws for the hand guard (Not a big deal and easily replaceable). Any advice is much appreciated.

Attachments

• 076.JPG
    076.JPG
    136.6 KB · Views: 123
  • 052.JPG
    052.JPG
    117.5 KB · Views: 125
  • 073.JPG
    073.JPG
    154.3 KB · Views: 108
  • 055.JPG
    055.JPG
    134.3 KB · Views: 122
  • 074.JPG
    074.JPG
    153.6 KB · Views: 105
Nice Kar, I like the serial number. Have you shot it yet? That's the best way to clear out a bore. As for the stock; have you taken it apart, is it matching? I use Formby's Lemon Oil treatment to hydrate stocks, seems to work and doesn't have any mal-effects. Looks like it might have been sanded though, if it's not matching I would look for a replacement.