Third Party Press

Kar98a 1914 Erfut with Ulm Proof House stamp

evrenay

I am a newbie to Ka98k forum, so please be kind if I make any mistakes.

Actually I am into Lugers and have 2 of them (1915 and 1916 DWM Artillery, matching numbers).

However I saw this K98 and took photos. After I became a member of K98k forum I read up about these wonderful rifles and found out that this one is a Kar98a made in Erfurt Gewehrfabrik in 1914.
Probably it was restamped in 1920 (after WWI) but I couldn't find out why it has a Geweihstange of Ulm proof house on the side. Also the writings WAESCH SCH are meaningless for me.

I would be very happy about any additional information about this old lady.

By the way the barrel is in a good contain and the rifling is intact and there was a DEMAG "staatlich geschützt" bayonet along with the rifle. I think it was a replica so I didn't take photos of it.

06-upload.jpg

08-upload.jpg

P1030024.jpg

P1030022.jpg

P1030021.jpg

P1030020.jpg

P1030019.jpg

P1030018.jpg

P1030017.jpg

P1030016.jpg

P1030015.jpg

P1030014.jpg

P1030011.jpg

P1030009.jpg

post ww2 proofs

those proofs are proof.. that the rifle passed through germany in the 50's to present..

Welcome to the forum, as M99 states, the extra proofing is post WWII and impacts value to many collectors. Seems quite typical on rifles sold in Germany today, seems they are getting more extravagant with the use of such markings if you spend much time looking at auctions on eGun (Europe-Germany's version of Gun Broker)

The other marking I am unfamiliar with, "WAESCH SCH HALL"? Can't be a good thing but perhaps one of the European collectors have an explanation to its meaning.