Third Party Press

G/43 input

The scope is also a reproduction. The seller states in his description that the mount is a repro and the scope is original, but they're both modern repros.

Oh, and I didn't even notice that the rain shield and eye cup are on backwards! Somebody was a little confused when they added their accessories.

I'm still learning, but what do you mean by the stock has been cleaned? Has it been "washed" or "sanded"? If it's sanded how or why did they skip around the waffenampts? The waffenampts and serial number looks pretty crisp to me. Thanks

This is always a great question. It is sometimes difficult to explain. If you have seen one come right out of the attic, it is a no brainer. I think you can do a search on the forum here and find a few good examples.

There are many variables that one must not forget also. The vast majority of the G/43's may have never made it much farther than a rail car out of the factory, or to a delivery point, and never really issued. Therefore, we find many examples that look like a dried out piece of playwood, that was made by "Bucky beaver"...with 70 years of dirt on it, and maybe some handling marks from grubby hands over the years. This is what all G/K43 collectors really want to see. granted, a lot of the g43 stocks were pretty well done to.

Now, lets say one made it into the field and was used. I am sure any soldier would not want to have a blonde, raw wood looking stock in the field (most g/k43 stocks were not stained). What did the soldier do to reduce this stock from being seen 100's of yards away (or just not being seen as the FNG)...did he put oil on it, dirt on it, grease...we may never really know.