Third Party Press

Seeking info on newly acquired 1941 K98k

LMVT

Hello all, I'm first time poster and a new owner of a 1941 bcd marked K98k. I purchased this Mauser from a friend of mine who recently acquired his late uncles collection of firearms. I've always wanted to add one of these to my collection, but I'm a newbie with limited knowledge of these rifles. There seems to be so much info out there it's making my head spin, so any info and approximate value on this particular rifle would be greatly appreciated.

Everything appears to be matching, except for the bolt and magazine floor plate. There is an extremely faint import marking on the underside of the barrel which I believe reads "Intrac Knox, TN 8mm Germany". It also appears that long ago someone tried to hastily remove the Nazi proof marks. The rifle has consistent, well worn patina with much of the bluing gone, but other than that it seems to be in excellent mechanical shape - It's just seen lots of use over the years.

I paid $600 for the rifle, which I think was a good price, considering it doesn't appear to be a Russian capture or a Mitchell's Mauser. Unfortunately It does not have the cleaning rod or a front sight hood, but I'm not sure if this particular K98k would have had a hood to begin with.

Thanks in advance.

IMG_1314.jpg
IMG_1294.jpg
IMG_1290.jpg
IMG_1291.jpg
IMG_1292.JPG

Attachments

• IMG_1313.jpg
    IMG_1313.jpg
    220.1 KB · Views: 66
Last edited: