Third Party Press

BNZ question.

jerrbear

Newbie here. Just aquired a K98 BNZ with a single rune mark 43. Trying to get info as to what the main difference is between the the one I have and the BNZ without the rune. If I understand correctly both were SS supervised when made and were made by Steyr, Austria.

No one knows the exact purpose the rune represents. However it is almost certainly related to the operations at KL Gusen where SDP conducted some manufacturing operations, - they were originally not related to their normal 98k program, though it is clear rejected parts and some manufacturing of components (receivers) were undertaken on a small scale. These rifles were almost certainly for the SS, though probably not for front line units, - probably to supply their KL system.

The rune itself is probably a form of acceptance, or accountability to differentiate the rifles from normal production. Normal production went through military inspection, normal acceptance patterns exist for their regular production. These SS contract rifles come in a couple variations, they can be broken into several sub-groups that are probably a result of the time frame they were assembled. (barrel codes and marking patterns differentiate these rifles)

Very possibly these SS contract rifles were sent to the main SDP plant for fireproofing and or final testing, though that is not known for sure either. What is known is specific to the period after August 1944 when the main works were bombed (and Radom was lost) and SDP small arms manufacture and assembly were dispersed. At that time rifle component manufacture was moved to Gusen and assembly to Mölln and all rifle production was removed from Steyr proper.

I have written an extensive article on SDP though I have had to delay publication for the time being as it is over 20 pages and will have to work on getting it to a manageable (and readable) size.