Third Party Press
Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: ZF41 Study

Default ZF41 Study

Hi all, this is my first time to post a thread in this forum.

I had been studying especially on ZF41 scopes.
    My website:
    http://zielfernrohr.b.la9.jp/index.htm

And had been collecting data of them (serial# and markings) and compiling them into a list. After working on for about 10 years, now I have managed to show almost every marking patterns connecting to serial numbers on each manufactures.
    List of ZF41:
    http://zielfernrohr.b.la9.jp/ZF41database.pdf

For further study, I would like to share information I have got and express my thoughts and hear your opinions or acquire new information.

I would start with basic facts on ZF41 scopes.

External appearances
    Except for the difference of the markings, 3 type exist. ZF41 Type1, Type2 and ZF41/1.
    See how to distinguish those types.
    zielfernrohr15020701.jpg

"Longer ocular tube" on ZF41/1 means by that you can see its end out of the rear rainshield. It also means the main scope body is shorter, so the total length of the scope is same.
    zielfernrohr15020702.png

ZF41 Type2 and ZF41/1 are similar in appearance but VERY different inside.

I knew Luc from Belgium. I have talked with him at an other forum, before his website. He had seen my website, but somehow did not understand the difference between Type2 and ZF41/1. He called ZF41/1 as Type2 too.

I will write about inside, the optical components of ZF41, in the next posting.

Ken
    Last edited by kentomon; 03-12-2016 at 09:29 AM. Reason: changed URL

Ken, you did a great job with your work. I think most do not comment, because it is simply perfect.

Really nice work.
    It a great source of information, specifically as a small thought of buying a ZF41 in forming in my mind at the moment.

Thanks a lot for posting this. The is now part of my reference library..

BR
    Scharfschuetze

Really great work, thank you!