Third Party Press

ar 43

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the forum and have had a few friends tell me this is the only place to go regarding questions on the K98 so hopefully you can help.

I came across a K98 at a show that was being sold as an all matching gun with Luftwaffe markings on it. I liked what I saw and put some money down on the gun to hold it until further inspection. I know the person selling it and have done buisness with him professionally. After reading a bit about the manufacturer I am questioning if there was any K98's issued to the Luftwaffe in 1943? also both the upper and lower bands on this gun are stamped and I think they should be milled??

Do you have any photos?

KJ
Some bad photos
46fcb699dc14cb6340eaf9e7566383ed.jpg
7afa9cc0183850af1e7148af66bda110.jpg
0675cedc5117eb62526d369886c984af.jpg
a9ff115c3cbe0374f3330beac7569e87.jpg

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

I'm far from an expert, but just based on the photos, which certainly lack anything really worthwhile, I don't like it.

And it could very well be legit, but the photo with the top of the receiver, is there an "x" to the left of the date?

Fred for one the Eagles don't even look right they almost look cartoony. And two they don't even match the wear on the stock as well. They almost look like they were applied yesterday, it just so happens they were probably!

Just curious what the asking price was?

I'm betting this rifle was a restored Sporter with a mismatched stock. But putting luftwaffe markings and stamps on a rifle increase its value dramatically. I'm glad to see you were brought here before you made a mistake.

Stock stamps are bad, very bad. As in, faked by a lying scoundrel.

KJ
I knew something was funny. He got all nervous and backed out of the deal when I asked if I could have the gun to look at for a couple days while he held my $$$.