Third Party Press

Help Identifying Mauser and restoring

I am new to these types of weapons. My father-in-law passed a way earlier this year and one of the guns he had was this Mauser 98. It has been sporterized and drilled for a scope. The barrel is marked dou 44. The trigger guard and magazine base plate are marked qnw. The only serial numbers I have found are 3039. On one of the websites listing factory codes the dou 44 serial numbers start at 3360, so I am a little confused. I have attached some photos of the rifle and parts. Can anyone help identify if this is a 1944 Model 98? or some other variant.

I would like to return this to it's original military stock. I would like to have this to go along with my M1 Garand. I am not sure of what type stock and other parts I need. I know I will need front and rear sights, hopefully I can remount them with out too much trouble.

I appreciate any info. I have been chasing this down the internet rabbit hole and I am starting to get a little confused.

Attachments

• Rifle.jpg
    Rifle.jpg
    56 KB · Views: 71
  • Barrel.jpg
    Barrel.jpg
    37.1 KB · Views: 95
  • Barrel Assembly.jpg
    Barrel Assembly.jpg
    40.4 KB · Views: 52
  • Bolt.jpg
    Bolt.jpg
    34.2 KB · Views: 55
  • Plate 1.jpg
    Plate 1.jpg
    36.6 KB · Views: 45
  • Plate 2.jpg
    Plate 2.jpg
    29.7 KB · Views: 42
There is a letter below your serial number on the bolt and probably receiver as well. It belongs to that letter block. they made about 10k rifles per block and then started at zero and a letter and went up from there.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk