Third Party Press

Trying to figure out what I have here, help!

BigShell

I picked up what I thought was a matching 1915 Erfurt K98az with a mismatched bolt, and have to say I am a bit disappointed with what I received, although I didn't break the bank, so not really heartbroken. I knew it wasn't perfect, with the obviously sanded and lacquered stock, etc, but there seem to be more issues which I think the seller (and I, truth be told) were oblivious to.

I am fairly new to this corner of the collecting world, so I'm hoping the experts here can advise me on just what I have. As you can see some bolt components are simply marked "o" with an un-checkered bolt knob, the rear band is, I believe a later 98k band, has a two-piece handguard, barrel seems longer than it should, stock/handguard are un-numbered inside the barrel channel, and has what I think is a Gew98 sling swivel. Please correct me on any of the above points if I am mistaken. Aside from all things previously mentioned, the rifle is incredibly dirty, though it may clean up okay.

Also of note: the bolt sticks in the receiver and takes a lot of force to pull it out. When I tried another 98az bolt from a parts gun I am working on, it cycled just fine, actually very smoothly.

Hate to even ask, but would it be worth parting out and moving on?

Pics provided off site due to file size:
https://imgur.com/a/9iBeCjK

This is a Turked Kar.98a (these are not Kar.98AZ, though someones use of the designation is a good clue that they do not know much about the kar.98a and their commentary should be ignored, especially when selling). These are not worth anywhere near $600 and parting out will still leave you short of what you paid.

Next time ask for help as I look over rifles routinely for people, though evaluations after the fact are not especially productive, once you get stuck with something it can be a challenge to get unstuck...