Third Party Press
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Identification help!

Default Identification help!

Hi I'm new here and this is my first post hope it's in the correct spot. First off my name is scooter and I love war relics and anything war related. I love old military rifles, the stories they could tell if they could talk is what draws me to them. I've always loved mausers but never really dug deep into he history of them. So forgive me as I'm still learning about them. As for why I'm here, I bought a geweher 98 or a k98 from my local gun store. They labeled it as a k98 but I'm not so sure because of the year. The receiver has 1916 stamped on the reciever. It was said to be all matching numbers. Numbers are 8320. It is missing the cleaning rod so that sucks and the bayonet that it come with doesnt have anything on it as far as a serial number. My main question what is this exaclty? Did the cleaning rod have the serial number? Also was the stock stamped with a serial number? Another main question I have is this stock has a number stamped or etched into it and that number is 8230. So that number doesnt match the rest. When I look at the serial number on the stock it looks a little funny so I'm not sure if its origional or if someone added it later and accidentally flipped the 3 and 2. Any advice would be awsome, thanks.
    Also I forgot to add this rifle is rough but does cycle and function. Doesnt look like it has ever been refinished wich I like. Also bear with me while I try and find a way to attach photos. Everytime i do It says they are too big or they wont let me attach them all.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Scooter24; 02-02-2019 at 08:39 PM.

The rest of the photos, wish it would let me attach them to the origional post.

From what I can see, you did fine with this Gewehr 98. Need photos of the bolt and bolt parts.
    Don't sweat the reversed numbers on the stock - not an unheard of thing with these rifles.