Third Party Press
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "K98" Noob Here!

Default "K98" Noob Here!

Hi all, I just got back from finishing the paperwork for what the store owner called a "K98" despite having done nearly no prior research on the models! I was hoping I could get some help here in identifying if it was a fake or not (I haven't actually paid for it yet). I was only able to take a couple pictures (https://imgur.com/a/zvnXjkr) since I had already kept them past closing for purchasing another gun. I'm hoping to go back tomorrow and take more pictures; are there specific areas that would be helpful in identifying the authenticity?

Thanks in advance!

Definitely a K98. Definitely not a high dollar rifle. So as long as you arenít going to pay more than Iíd say $600, the bore isnít shit, the stock isnít broke, you probably did fine. Little can be said from 2 pics.

Mauser Borsigwalde manufactur. 1939-1940 probably. Repro sling. Probably a good shooter. When you first start out with K98s, as I did, you really donít know that you donít know anything. So much to learn

Keeper of the Def's Head M1903A3's Avatar

Hello! When you go back, get pictures of the markings on the bolt, and of the markings on the barrel bands. Also, if you can see any visible markings on the stock get those too.

Just from your initial pictures nothing bad jumps out. You may have done well for 600 bucks! Good luck!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The second photo shows some stock damage to the area around the recoil crossbolt. Closer examination and more photos needed of the stock.

I was able to grab more pictures today:

Stamps: https://imgur.com/a/WxZtn89
    Full Body: https://imgur.com/a/pMNa6xX

For $650 was this worth it? (And is it real? lol)