Third Party Press

"K98" Noob Here!

Hi all, I just got back from finishing the paperwork for what the store owner called a "K98" despite having done nearly no prior research on the models! I was hoping I could get some help here in identifying if it was a fake or not (I haven't actually paid for it yet). I was only able to take a couple pictures (https://imgur.com/a/zvnXjkr) since I had already kept them past closing for purchasing another gun. I'm hoping to go back tomorrow and take more pictures; are there specific areas that would be helpful in identifying the authenticity?

Thanks in advance!

Definitely a K98. Definitely not a high dollar rifle. So as long as you aren’t going to pay more than I’d say $600, the bore isn’t shite, the stock isn’t broke, you probably did fine. Little can be said from 2 pics.

Mauser Borsigwalde manufactur. 1939-1940 probably. Repro sling. Probably a good shooter. When you first start out with K98s, as I did, you really don’t know that you don’t know anything. So much to learn

Hello! When you go back, get pictures of the markings on the bolt, and of the markings on the barrel bands. Also, if you can see any visible markings on the stock get those too.

Just from your initial pictures nothing bad jumps out. You may have done well for 600 bucks! Good luck!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The second photo shows some stock damage to the area around the recoil crossbolt. Closer examination and more photos needed of the stock.

From what im seeing it looks to be what I call a "franken-mauser". A conglomeration of many different rifle parts into one rifle. The recoil lug damage is worry some. But considering it has a matching bolt and some matching numbers its probably worth about as much as a russian capture. Which is around $600. It is a "real" k98k. Its just not a matching or original condition k98k. Stock is horribly refinished. Just my .02 cents.

Edit: The sling is ofcourse a modern reproduction.

John.