Third Party Press

1911 Amberg

JBBOOKS

I have the chance to purchase a 1911 Amber Kar 98. All the serial numbers match, but someone cut the stock to use as a hunting rifle. How hard is it to find a replacement stock and what is a fair price for a nice stock. I have heard that it is difficult to find a stock that will fit the action. I am new to Imperial rifles so any help you can give will be greatly appreciated.

Not very easy to find a original Kar98a stock..they do show up though..there are reproductions produced will set you back 275.00 approx.

Not very easy to find a original Kar98a stock..they do show up though..there are reproductions produced will set you back 275.00 approx.

+1. Save your money, by the time you find a appropriate stock, bands, and other hardware you're probably looking at what it would cost you to buy an honest bolt m/m outright.

Coming from a guy who has lost his a$$ several times on restorations, they are seldom worth it and generally based around the gun having an original stock if it's from the Imperial era. How bad and where is it cut? Are you sure the rifle isn't duffle cut and the parts got lost? Photos would help. But with a 98a you can find a stock easy enough, it will just cost you. The hand guard will be next to impossible.

Thanks

Thanks for the advice. The stock was cut way back and could not be repaired. No handguard. Based on your previous attempts at restorations I think I am going to pass on this one. Thanks for the advice.
+1. Save your money, by the time you find a appropriate stock, bands, and other hardware you're probably looking at what it would cost you to buy an honest bolt m/m outright.