Third Party Press

G43 AC44 R-Stock For Review

JAust

Hi all,

Totally G43 novice here. I've been offered this rifle for sale and I could use some help regarding it's overall condition. From what I can base off the limited images the stock is original but sanded and used post-war by the French due to the R marking. The finish on this looks almost too good to be true, so I am wondering if perhaps it has been re-blued? Furthermore the scope looks original but the mount may be a repro since I really can't distinguish from genuine ones due to my limited knowledge on these. Seller claims it is all numbers matching. What would be a fair price for this rig? I'm waiting on better pictures but the seller is currently away so this is all I have to work with at the moment. Will update this thread as needed.

Kind Regards,

Austin.

IMG_2368.jpg

IMG_2370.jpg

[IMG_2369.jpg

(having trouble uploading this final image so it is an external link) https://imgur.com/XNEpb3y

Last edited:
The stock is a recent made non-laminate reproduction, stock recoil lug could be a modified carriage bolt, so I'd be wary. The 'R' marking doesn't even resemble the French post war marking, not sure why that was faked. Front sight hood looks off, front sight base is late war Walther.

Just viewed last pic, stock recoil lug looks ok. Receiver is an occupied French build, looks refinished.

Mount and sling are reproduction. Post the additional photos when you get them for an assessment on the rifle itself.
+1. Looks like the stock is a reproduction also. Not worth buying as a collectible. But not bad if you want a shooter and the price reflects that.