Third Party Press

Novice to classic firearms, request for info

nanthil

Greetings.

I am a complete novice when it comes to classic firearms. I know some of the jokes and memes about the Mauser, Mosin, and Enfield, but nothing for certain. I know that it is claimed that the Mauser's bolt is still used in modern bolt-action designs, but not what that means. I know that these classic rifles used to be valued at a dime a dozen.

I don't know what I'm looking for, what makes one rifle better than another, whether these are just display pieces or actually worth taking out to shoot. What I'm after is an inexpensive, full-size cartridge field rifle which will likely become attached to a high powered optic. It should be more accurate than I am, and be sufficiently self-maintainable. Many of my pals have one classic rifle or another they use for hunting, plinking, long-ranged shooting, or competition, and I don't have any idea what I'm looking at. Or maybe I should just be looking at something modern like an R700 or something.

Can someone please send me some links to reputable sources, be it articles, youtube channels, online shops, rifle vetting websites, historical websites that might be able to clue me in about classic firearms and rifles so I can know if I'm even in the right place?

Thanks!