Third Party Press

New to bayonets just a few questions

Rob0331

As the title states I'm new to this whole field. I was wondering what a correct bayonet for a kar 98a would be. Also where are some good places to find one. From what little research I've done I have found I know no where near enough to tell the difference between the $100 ones and the $1200. I'm more or less just wanting to find something that is period correct for the rifle. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

I’d like an answer also . . . .

I think (always dangerous) the correct bayonet would have wooden grips and the steel flash guard.

I’ve mounted my “quill back” bayonet on my 98a, and thought it to be a mighty fragile mounting!

Can’t imagine they stood up well in a fight.

IMHO the bayonet you guys are looking for would be a typical S98/05 "Butcher-Blade". That being said, there are sub-variants such as the "Aa" (older pattern w/out flashguard, having the wide crossguard "ears" and leather scabbard with metal mounts), or "Na" (newer pattern with flashguard, small "ears" and steel scabbard). Now, add the letter "S" to the equation and this would be the same two variants, but with the sawback-blade. If one uses "abg" in reference to the latter, it would indicate the sawback was officially removed. Lastly, refurbished bayonets abound, and can either be of WW1 or Wiemar/early 3rd Reich period (the latter typically being blued).