Third Party Press

Sniper Solbuch: genuine or fake

There has also been about zero to one or two times in my life that I've ever seen a "sniper patch" and entertained even the idea that it may be original. That one I like, though I can't confirm it original.

What would you look for in a German paper forgery?

If they truly were faking German Documents like in the "Great Escape Movie", where do you begin as a collector? Stamps? Handwriting? Inconsistancies? Paper?

Some of the US Capture Papers are straight forward with obvious mistakes.

Six digit number

HEllo
My concern is about the six digit number written about the scope number. I tought the scope number used by german during ww2 were five digit numbers not six ???
Regards

HEllo
My concern is about the six digit number written about the scope number. I tought the scope number used by german during ww2 were five digit numbers not six ???
Regards

Hello Xavier,

I have no knowledge about scope entries but that makes me feel comfortable is that the same red ink that is used to cross out his scope issue entry is also used on the previous page to cross out another lot less intresting entry.
That red ink is standard and can be seen in lots of Soldbucher.
He also could have been issued a foreign scope.
If you want to be absolutely 100% sure about a sniper Soldbuch, you have to get the Soldbuch from the veteran personally I guess.
Like I said already, from what I can see on the images it looks good.

Cheers,
Peter

What would you look for in a German paper forgery?

If they truly were faking German Documents like in the "Great Escape Movie", where do you begin as a collector? Stamps? Handwriting? Inconsistancies? Paper?

Some of the US Capture Papers are straight forward with obvious mistakes.

Hi Winchester Cowboy,

In the case of Soldbucher: