Third Party Press

Why so much information?

James K

Hi, guys.

I am a newbie here so maybe the question has been answered; if not maybe Peter U. can reply. My question is why the German Soldbuch contained so much information. It is not just a pay book and ID but contains the soldier's unit, previous units, hospital stays, weapons issue, etc.. etc., in effect, his whole personnel file. Surely it was convenient to have all that in one place, especially if the soldier was moving around, but as a former security type, it gives me the willies; what a bonanza those books must have been for Allied intelligence! I tend to compare this to an American soldier's ID card and dog tags, which have little else but name, rank, serial number, religion and blood type.

I have to wonder if the Germans might have harmed their cause simply because their soldiers carried too much information around with them.

Jim

If I'm not mistaken, I've heard the Soldbuch would not have been carried into combat in most cases.

Hi Jim,

It is indeed weird that a German WW2 Soldbuch had so much information in it, allied intelligence could indeed read them to, for example when they checked POW's they must have got lots of information out of them.
The German army had a lots of strange rules and regulations; just before the war broke out soldiers had to remove the unit numbers from their uniform jacket but on the other hand they allowed cuff tittles like Grossdeutschland, Leibstandarte, Germania, Fallschirmjägerregiment 1,....etc.

Cheers,
Peter

If I'm not mistaken, I've heard the Soldbuch would not have been carried into combat in most cases.

Alas you are a bit mistaken, the large majority of German soldiers carried their Soldbuch on them also in combat conditions but their are exceptions.